Marino Medal on the line

HISTORY will be created tomorrow night when the first Nola Marino Medallist is announced for the best and fairest in the South West Football League women’s competition.

A number of players are in the running, including Bunbury captain-coach Trish Lake, teammate Karen Cowley, Harvey Bulls duo Larissa Versaci and Dena English, South Bunbury’s Katie Grieve and dynamic goal-kicker Bethany Bond and Busselton superstar Shelley Hull.

The winner will be announced at the Hayward Medal presentation night at the Quality Hotel Lighthouse.

Due to time restrictions there will not be a count for the medal, but it will be presented before the final round of Hayward Medal votes and will be the penultimate award presented on the night.

Forrest MHR Nola Marino will be at the event to present the award to the winner.

Lake will also be presented the inaugural women’s competition goal-kicker award, after kicking 37 goals in 10 games this season.

The Times Medal will be presented to the best and fairest in the reserves competition, while the best colts player for 2017 will receive the Dagostino Developments Medal.

Harvey-Brunswick-Leschenault will be presented the Dale Alcock Homes Club Championship Award for the second-straight year, with the club finishing on the most points across all three men’s grades.

The BCE coaches Player of the Year and the WACFL Volunteer Award will also be presented.

Bunbury defender Travis Justins will also be presented the South Western Times Medal as the best South West footballer at the Landmark Championships.

Source: South Western Times.