Comment on the change of leadership

“The Liberal Party Room has made a decision through its normal democratic process, and I will be doing everything I can to support the Party and achieve unity in the pursuit of continuing Coalition government.

I congratulate Malcolm Turnbull and Julie Bishop on their election as Leader and Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party.

I also thank Tony Abbott for his loyalty and service to the Liberal Party and to Australia as Prime Minister.

I will continue to work hard in the interests of the people here in Forrest.”