Coalition delivers new mobile coverage to the South West

The South West will receive five additional mobile base stations to improve mobile coverage under round 2 of the Australian Government’s Mobile Black Spot Program, the member for Forrest Nola Marino announced today.

Mobile coverage will be extended for residents and visitors in these areas –

  • Conto’s Campsite in the Boranup Forest,
  • Deepdene near Hamelin Bay,
  • Jangardup Road in the Shire of Nannup,
  • Strickland Road in the Shire of Nannup, and
  • on the Vasse Highway in Yoganup between Busselton and Nannup.

The locations for round 2 of the Mobile Black Spot Program were selected following an appeal to the public to nominate black spots.

These locations were entered into the national map which was provided to mobile network providers to assist them to develop funding applications. These were assessed against the program guidelines by the Department of Communications and the Minister accepted the Department’s recommendations without change.

“The new base stations in the South West are due to the efforts of the community in identifying black spot locations and advocating for them to be fixed,” Mrs Marino said.

Minister for Regional Communications Fiona Nash praised the Program.

“In total, Rounds 1 and 2 of the Coalition’s Program will deliver new coverage to 32,000 homes and businesses across 86,000 square kilometres including 7600 of major transport routes via 765 new mobile phone towers,” Minister Nash said.

“I aim to help build the kinds of communities our children and grandchildren either want to stay in or come back to, and better mobile phone coverage is a big part of that.”

The locations of all of the 266 base stations can be found on the national map at

More information about the Coalition Government’s Mobile Black Spot Program can be found at