2017 SWFL Hayward Medal

COLLIE Eagles midfielder Travis Cleggett said he was humbled and a little bit shocked to be crowned the 2017 South West Football League Hayward Medallist on Friday night.

The 21-year-old had an outstanding season which included four best-onground appearances in the eyes of the umpires voting for the 72nd annual bestand-fairest prize.

He thanked his family for their support and praised his teammates who were busy preparing for the weekend’s game against Harvey. “It’s been a good season for us and it’s not quite over yet,” he said.

The colts best-and-fairest medal was presented to Busselton’s Tait Spowart while Jayden Smith from Carey Park won his second award of the night as the reserves best-and-fairest.

It was a big night too for Bunbury’s Trisha Lake who was won the first Nola Marino medal as best-and-fairest in the women’s competition.

She also won the women’s goal-kicking award with 37 majors across 10 games.

Taine Williams from HBL kicked the most goals in the colts competition with 63 while Chris Strano led the reserves competition with 51 majors.

Donnybrook Football Club’s Kieran Hug was named the coach’s player of the year while Kai Luzi from Bunbury was crowned colts player of the year and Jayden Smith from Carey Park won reserves player of the year.

Source: Busselton Dunsborough Mail.